bonding over artex?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
just a quick one , i am plastering a ceiling and it has horrible :evil: deep artex on it. i dont think two coats of multi will cover it even with knocking the rough edges off.

my question is should i use bonding on it first and if so do i pva it before hand, i am new to using bonding and have only used it to fill a few holes and cracks which i had no problem skimming over. is there a set procedure when bonding a wall/ceiling. plus (sorry for all the questions) do you mix it to a thick consistency or like a creamy one like multi-finish and how much workability do you get with it?

one more thing i need to plaster over some pipes, should i put some conduit over it and bond over that level with the wall.

thanks guys

Sponsored Links
danger here is the artex not being sealed enough and the weight of it pulling the artex off the ceiling, so YES, PVA first, to be honest i often use WBA first then PVA to make sure and haven't had any problems, possibly overkill but i've had a problem once with patches of bonded artex falling off.

you want it a bit thicker than finish IMO but each will like it differently, needs to be thick enough to spread thickly but not too thick so maybe thinner that you'd have it for filling holes and chases.

just lay it on and flatten it, job done, if you can close it up a bit it may help reduce the chance of bubbling when skimming.

you should get almost an hour i suppose with it before it's picked up too much.

yes put conduit over pipes otherwise they'll crack your plaster when they expand and contract.

see what others have to say too though.

danger here is the artex not being sealed enough and the weight of it pulling the artex off the ceiling, so YES, PVA first, to be honest i often use WBA first then PVA to make sure and haven't had any problems, possibly overkill but i've had a problem once with patches of bonded artex falling off.