Books you can recommend

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

OK, so I'm new to all this, having just got my OFTEC reg and am on the long road to learn it all in the field.

As a lot of oil boilers now combine expansion vessels, heating pumps etc, I would like to learn more about this as I expect I will need to know.

Can you well versed guys recommend any books on this subject?

I'd like to know the basics of plumbing, but only what combines with the service/repair of oil boilers. Also a bit more electrics info would be good.

Also I've got the testers etc covered, but what sort of spares am I expected to carry in the van, apart from nozzles, filters etc.

And tools, anything I need to have out of the ordinary?

I've gotta start somewhere and I know you lot can help or take the pi*s, so be kind :)

Over to you...

Regards.
Steve

Sponsored Links
It rather worries me that you seem to be setting up to do repair work when you admit you are not knowledgeable.

Most people would say that you should spend about 6 months to a year out every day with an experienced person before going out on your own.

The hydraulics of boilers are exactly the same for oil and gas.

Whilst oil burners are rather more complicated than gas they are also rather more reliable in my experience. They do need more careful setting up though.

Tony

I know nothing about oil boilers, but I would suggest that you get yourself booked on a few manufacturers training courses. They are usually free or around £40 for the day and include lunch. You will then get to know what matters in a boiler and not just some theory from someone who has written a book and does not work in the field!

As you will note on here you need to know about the heating systems that a boiler connects to, otherwise you could be looking for a fault in a boiler that is not faulty but has an external cause.