Bristan Concealed Shower Install help requested

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am about to order a shower kit:

Bristan Descent Luxury Fixed Head Shower Pack

QS-V694 MFC CODE: DESCENT SHWR PK

Bristan Descent Luxury Fixed Head Shower Pack - DESCENT SHWR PK

I am a gas service engineer, not a plumber. Although I can obviously do plumbing to a certain degree, it has never formed part of my regular work.

I intend to fit the valve, then finish the plasterboard, followed by shower wall panels (which are 10.5mm).
This has now now occurred to me:
the valve needs to be attached to the stud work, obviously. The spines will then protrude through the depth of the board & panel. Does the valve have to be fitted at a precise position as far as depth is concerned, or is there reasonable leeway? There must be a maximum thickness of wall covering allowed, any idea what that will be?

The second issue is similar: the wall outlet will NOT be accessible from behind, and the instructions

2016-8-27--8-52-51-639. PDF-1111034-1-D5-2 (2).PDF

show an alternative fixing method i.e. not using the back nut and simply screwing into a 1/2 " female fitting, with an 'o' ring between the wall panel and the outlet. Does this 1/2" fitting have to be fitted in a precise position? I am struggling to understand what will stop it flopping around once the outlet is screwed into the fitting, unless the water tight position is reached when the outlet is tight against the wall panel, if you see what I mean.

Finally, are these units okay?

Thanks for any help.

Sponsored Links
With these units you need to be reasonably accurate with your distances. With the wall open you need to offer the valve up and see how far out you want the controls and therefore how deep the mounting needs to be for the valve screw holes. Don't forget the wall covering and any adhesives needs to be added to the dimensions.