1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

BT hub power cable

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by russellsmiler, 21 Jan 2016.

  1. russellsmiler

    russellsmiler

    Joined:
    19 Sep 2011
    Messages:
    273
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Powys
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all,
    My mother is coming into the world of the internet and I am looking at a provider for her, its looks like we will go with BT standard broadband and will purchase the Hub 4 router which will be required, the poblem is ther is no electric socket in the vicinity of the phone incomer (which incidently is were she wants the Hub to sit) so i have to run a discreet extension lead atop the skirting, over the door frame, and then under the table were it will probably just lie on the floor for the hub to be plugged in!!
    I aim to make this as discreet as possible and given that the only thing that will ever be plugged in at the extension (hub) end will be the Hub itself Therefore, Can anyone recommend the smallest size of Flex i can use for this, I am uncertain what power is drawn by the Hub but suspect its very little!

    Any advice warmly welcomed.

    Russ
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Jackrae

    Jackrae

    Joined:
    20 Nov 2012
    Messages:
    2,107
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Dumfriesshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You might be better to consider running a telephone line to the location of the available mains socket and locating the hub there (mothers are used to having their wishes ignored). But in answer to your question, the smallest cable you can locate rated for mains use will be more than large enough.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    19,524
    Thanks Received:
    1,975
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How many cables will plug into the hub? If its just the phone line (wi-fi for everything else) then Jackrae's suggestion would be sensible.
    If you need to have a few Ethernet things connected to the hub (I have) then extending the mains would be the way to go.

    If you do run a mains extension, then please select the correct size fuse at the plug end. The size will depend on how thick the cable is.
     
  5. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    44,187
    Thanks Received:
    2,793
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, the 'thickness' of the cable dictates the maximum size of fuse that could be used, but for just the BT hub, 'the smallest fuse one could find' would be more than adequate - a 1A one would be ideal, but they're not so easy to come by in retail outlets, so it's likely to be 3A - and that should be OK for any mains-rated cable.

    Kind Regards, John
     
  6. kai

    kai

    0.75sq.mm three core mains rated flex should be fine to power the BT internet hub, use a 3amp fuse in the plug.
     
  7. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    44,187
    Thanks Received:
    2,793
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So would 0.5mm² mains-rated flex, with a 3A (or 1A) fuse.

    Kind Regards, John
     
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. ccam108

    ccam108

    Joined:
    2 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just make sure you use three-core cable, even if the hub doesn't require an earth. You never know when an adapter and a brass lamp will magically appear because there's a new socket to plug in to.
     
  10. Mr Gear

    Mr Gear

    Joined:
    24 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    134
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Remember extending the telephone line can affect the broadband line speed or reliability. Less so perhaps with it being the standard option rather than the high speed options but it could be a consideration.

    How about extending the (12V?) lead from the mains adaptor?
     
  11. PBC_1966

    PBC_1966

    Joined:
    1 Sep 2015
    Messages:
    2,409
    Thanks Received:
    210
    Location:
    Redding, California
    Country:
    United States
    In theory every extra length of cable can potentially affect it, but so long as the proper cable and connection methods are used, a few extra feet inside the house will have no significant effect for all practical purposes against what could be up to several miles of line from the house back to the DSLAM in the exchange or a remote unit.

    Even with FTTC, unless the cabinet is pretty much right outside the house where the line enters, a few feet of extra cable will be insignificant against the probably several hundred feet from the NTE back to the cabinet.
     
  12. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    44,187
    Thanks Received:
    2,793
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Indeed, but I suspect he was thinking about a (non-ideal) connection rather than the extra length of cable. In reality, I suspect the average domestic user would not notice the difference even if there were (one) pretty awful connection and a few feet of extra cable.

    Kind Regards, John
     
  13. Mr Gear

    Mr Gear

    Joined:
    24 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    134
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    :LOL::LOL:

    Thanks John, I was indeed - though based on personal experience I have tested and measured significant enough gains in line speed when using a short cable (with minimal connections from faceplate to modem) compared to long extensions to stick my modem/router close to the outlet. Perhaps the home environment offers more opportunities for EMI to have an effect?
    That was after moving to FTTC. Previously on 'normal' broadband I had my modem up the loft! :LOL:
     
  14. PBC_1966

    PBC_1966

    Joined:
    1 Sep 2015
    Messages:
    2,409
    Thanks Received:
    210
    Location:
    Redding, California
    Country:
    United States
    What sort of extensions?
     
  15. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page