1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

BT phone line extension from master socket

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by davejuk, 1 Sep 2009.

  1. davejuk

    davejuk

    Joined:
    9 Sep 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Bristol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm in the process of laying CAT6 network cable and installing RJ45 sockets, and while I have the floorboards up I thought it would make sense to replace the crummy "plug 'n' play" type BT phone extension with a proper extension socket installed flush with the wall.

    What's the best type of cable to use, and what's it called? Or should I just use the cable from the extension kit?

    Many thanks.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Paul_C

    Paul_C

    Joined:
    19 Nov 2004
    Messages:
    2,137
    Thanks Received:
    139
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  4. davejuk

    davejuk

    Joined:
    9 Sep 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Bristol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the link.

    I'm sure that if I had called them 8P8C plugs/sockets then a lot of people wouldn't know what I was talking about :)
     
  5. disinfo

    disinfo

    Joined:
    7 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    1,043
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why not just use a bit of your CAT6?
     
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. davejuk

    davejuk

    Joined:
    9 Sep 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Bristol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm sure it would work but that's not really the proper way to do it.
     
  8. plugwash

    plugwash

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    9,331
    Thanks Received:
    334
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    cat5/5e/6 is used for phones in offices all the time, nothing wrong with it.
     
  9. davejuk

    davejuk

    Joined:
    9 Sep 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Bristol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I stand corrected, but I've ordered 10m of CW1308 so I may as well use that now. If anything it might save the next owner some confusion.
     
  10. drgl

    drgl

    Joined:
    27 Jun 2003
    Messages:
    407
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You should have just flood wired the building & got the NTE5 master socket next to your patch panel, that way you could have used BT to RJ45 patch kits to patch the telephone line to any network socket you wished. That is the whole point of a structured cabling system(CAT5e/CAT6).
     
  11. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page