Building a stud wall with open space above top plate (nothing to fix it to horizontally)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi I've been tasked to build a partition but the trouble is there is nothing to fix the top plate to as the ceiling is about 5m high and they only want it 3m high. Wouldn't be too much of a problem but the width of the partition will be about 3.5m wide and I can't seem to find any cls timber longer than 2.4m in length so I'm a but stuck as to how I'm going to build this the best way. What's the best way to join two lengths of timber together to get the strongest top plate in this situation?

Sorry if this is a total newbie question

Thanks

Sponsored Links
For an unsupported wall you need to go to 4 x 2in CLS if at all possible as 3 x 2in CLS will be awfully "wobbly". If you buy from a timber merchant or builders merchant CLS in any section should be available in longer lengths - I had some 4 x 2in CLS delivered yesterday in 4.7 metre lengths. Some merchants carry "regularised" timber rather than CLS.

Another couple of things to consider: for a more rigid wall use a couple of rows of horizontal noggins between the joists and double up your header by adding an extra binder above it. The binder should overlap any joints on the header. Screw the frame together with 5 x 90/100 or 6 x 90/100 mm screws as screwing always makes a more rigid wall than nailing. The sole plate needs to be well fixed down to the floor - the bigger the fastenings the better (e.g. Rawlbolts as opposed to screws and plugs, or coach screws as opposed to woodscrews, etc). 400mm centres are better than 600mm for rigidity. You will need to plumb the frame up before final fixing to the floor - this will require the use of home-made timber wedges beneath the sole plate

Last edited by a moderator: