Butt'ing tiles, no spacers?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
The boss has chose some wood effect tiles for the new kitchen. The sample in the showroom and the online photos suggest they've butt joined the tiles without using spaces/grout lines. I like the look of this but i was told a long time ago this is a 'no no' as the adhesive wont set.

Any tiling pros confirm if i can do this or not?

tiles.jpg

Sponsored Links
preecy, good evening.

OK I am not a tiling professional, but?

I would be concerned about the long term water penetration into the joints, especially within the spray area of the shower? over time, there is a "Possibility" that shower water could get behind the tiles and either the tile falls of or rot somewhere begins.

I work as an Insurance Claims Surveyor, as such I regularly see wood and plaster damage occasioned by water leaking out of shower enclosures caused by missing grout between the tiles? the missing grout scenario and a claim can be interesting to resolve from an insurance perspective?

Next concern is that there is no room for expansion and contraction of the tiles, especially of note in a long and high run of tiling.

Just some considerations?

Ken

the wood effect tiles in your pic are not in direct contact with any wet spray but still not a great idea.

all wood tile for my two pee need a min of 3mm grout/spacers.
use same colour grout and trim as the tile.
contact mfr's for advice if got doubts.

Pity though, as the whole point of these wood-effect tiles is to look like wood. You don't usually see grout between real wood planks.

Sponsored Links
The boss has chose some wood effect tiles for the new kitchen. The sample in the showroom and the online photos suggest they've butt joined the tiles without using spaces/grout lines. I like the look of this but i was told a long time ago this is a 'no no' as the adhesive wont set.

Any tiling pros confirm if i can do this or not?

View attachment 147522