1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Buzzer for Videx 3011 entry phone

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by ryannf, 20 Jul 2019.

  1. ryannf

    ryannf

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all

    I was wondering if anyone can help, I've been battling with my Videx entryphome system for months now and have some of it working, I'm a joiner by trade and not very close up on electrics as you can probably tell. It was not a like for like handset replacement so I improvised but the buzzer is not working despite trying a few different combinations and wondering if anyone can help?

    Thanks IMG_20190720_162922.jpg
     
  2. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    6,863
    Thanks Received:
    1,067
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When you say it’s wasnt a like for like replacement ....what did you have before ?
     
  3. ryannf

    ryannf

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It was a Videx but an old model with a completely different layout. I made a conscientious guess with the wiring, it's an old tenement I am in and the speaker seems to work, the lock release the reciever seem to work but not sure if that is just luck?
     
  4. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    6,863
    Thanks Received:
    1,067
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did the old one have a buzzer ? Or was it tone generated via the handset or internal speaker ...
     
  5. ryannf

    ryannf

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah it had a buzzer also and was working fine, was similar to the new one as I thought it would be like for like just upgraded but thought wrong I suppose.
     
  6. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    6,863
    Thanks Received:
    1,067
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I woul normally look on intercoms r us website for replacement for old handset ....some systems don’t support electronic call ....
     
  7. ryannf

    ryannf

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The manual for the replacement does state it accepts electronicronic calls, I just thought I'd ask the question but may need to get an electrician in to wire it it think
     
  8. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    6,863
    Thanks Received:
    1,067
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The handset does ....but the system ....maybe not ..as some use 12ac for buzzer , some use dc for the call, you may end up having to fit the correct handset for the existing system
     
  9. 3george

    3george

    Joined:
    2 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  10. ryannf

    ryannf

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi 3george, it is a big help thanks for that, I am still struggling though as I'd imagine an electrician would look at that and know exactly where each wire goes but I would need to find out what each number meant off the main unit (or what colour that wire would be) so I'd know where it goes in the handset, I'll keep trying though
     
  11. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    6,863
    Thanks Received:
    1,067
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don’t think it has sunk in...it’s not going TO WORK if your system only supports buzzer ( AC ) call .....
     
  12. 3george

    3george

    Joined:
    2 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There is a UK support number on the PDF link I sent / why not give them a call and confirm compatibility.

    Also search ' videx ' on ebay produces other handsets which may be a better fit.
     
  13. 3george

    3george

    Joined:
    2 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  14. ryannf

    ryannf

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks 3george, yeah that link is the one I have purchased and just upgraded the older model. I have taken a couple of pictures of the entry system itself, not sure if it will help but thought I would give it one more go as seems a shame to have to get an old handset just because the buzzer is the only thing not working IMG_20190724_184445.jpg IMG_20190724_184447.jpg IMG_20190724_184440.jpg
     
Loading...

Share This Page