C & G 2382 (17th edition wiring regs) teach yourself?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am currently a self-employed telecomms engineer, but want to train as an electrician, in order to work on domestic installations and be self-certified. I have looked at all the NAPIT info, but am a bit wary of the fact I have no previous experience. I am quite happy with the basics and can and have undertaken my own wiring etc, and have worked on telecomms power plant, so I am not a complete dunce. I am just a bit concerned that the course is only 3 days and it seems to me there will be a hell of a lot to it, specially given the fail rates. what I want to know is how can I prepare myself (books etc) beforehand, and most importantly is it actually feasible to pass this if you have no previous background? I do not want to be a 5 day wonder and start out without this exam under my belt. what do you think guys?

Sponsored Links
I'm ex telecoms- PABX's, structured and Cat cabling.

Did the DISQ 5 day 'wonder' in 05 and the 3 day 2381 in 08 via NICEIC.

You need to buy the OSG and the 17th book, I'd also suggest flea bay for used copies of the DISQ and 3 day 2381 course books. They will help, but nothing helps more than practical experience combined with the book work.

You suggest you are anti 5 day wonder, but since you haven't suggested the CG 1 day week, 2 years route you will need more than just the 17th cert.

The 17th cert is very valid, but really only proves you can read a book- the exam is open book, mult choice questions and even a numpty such as myself got 93%

Obviously, I am biased (I teach the stuff) but a three-day regs course will do nothing more than scratch the surface. We take five days to deliver the 2382-10 and many students tell us it should be a couple of weeks, but as Chri5 says, this qualification is about content, rather than application.