C plan to S plan fully pumped

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I think its about time i converted to fully pumped. In terms of pipework, is this something which im allowed to do myself? (No gas pipe work only water) and if so, how would be the best way to do it?

At the moment my boiler is in the garage with the flow and returns for primaries and secondaries coming straight out of the top of the boiler and into the celing (about 18 inches above the boiler). The motorised valve for the hot water is in the primary return and the CH pump is on the secondary return pipe.

So basically, how would you go about altering the pipework to be compatible with S plan? wiring wise its ok as i am an engineer and will notify. The reason im going for S plan over Y plan is because i have not got the option to pull in a new cable from the timer to the boiler and for Y plan i would need an extra wire for HW off.

Sponsored Links
A pic of the boiler etc, with everything labelled, would be very helpful. :)

S plans are better anyway, greater flow rate, easier to wire, easier to fault find. Don't forget you can get wireless room stats, cyl stats and programmers!

Sponsored Links
CIMG0127.jpg

Thanks for the pic.

I assume you have confirmed, by visual inspection, that the pipes are as labelled.

The CH pipe look like 22mm and I assume the HW pipes are 28mm.

Where do the feed and vent pipes from the F/E tank join the system?

A fully pumped system only uses two connections - in your case they are the CH flow and HW return. The other two will need to be blanked off.

There will be quite a lot of pipework alteration. I only hope there is enough room above the boiler to accommodate it.

You may have to put a one-way valve in the CH return to prevent reverse flow when on HW is ON.

please excuse the poor effort on paint, but here is how the pipework is at the moment.

chhw.png