Can a bad exhaust temp sensor cause engine overheat message and misfire ?

Joined
27 Oct 2022
Messages
37
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I have a 2014 Vauxhall Insignia EcoFlex 2.0 CDTI


Today I got a message '' engine overheated, turn off engine '' on my car. When I restarted it, the car misfired very badly. The AA came out and his machine revealed an exhaust temp sensor issue, and he says it needs a software update.

The AA guy says the car did not overheat, it was a false reading because of the exhaust temp sensor
When he cleared the code or whatever he did the car started and drove fine and the temp gauge showed cool without going back into the red.

I dropped it off at a garage I used once before and the garage doesn't know anything about it being dropped off yet , I am hoping it can be sorted on Monday.
does the diagnosis seem right ? Also how much should I expect to pay for a replacement exhaust temp sensor and software update and how long will it take approximately ?


thanks
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
7 Feb 2008
Messages
24,139
Reaction score
4,908
Location
Northumberland
Country
United Kingdom
The purpose of the exhaust temperature sensor is to control the regeneration of the DPF. This can only happen when the exhaust temperature is high.
If the DPF cannot regenerate the engine goes into limp home mode and will illuminate a diagnostic lamp on the dashboard.
Resetting the fault code may improve things for a very short time - or maybe not at all.
The engine won’t overheat if this occurs but gauges may suggest otherwise.
Your particular engine uses excess diesel injection to raise the exhaust temperature and if this doesn’t happen then the oil level in the sump rises and must be monitored.
Only use a genuine OE sensor.
John
 
Joined
27 Oct 2022
Messages
37
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
The purpose of the exhaust temperature sensor is to control the regeneration of the DPF. This can only happen when the exhaust temperature is high.
If the DPF cannot regenerate the engine goes into limp home mode and will illuminate a diagnostic lamp on the dashboard.
Resetting the fault code may improve things for a very short time - or maybe not at all.
The engine won’t overheat if this occurs but gauges may suggest otherwise.
Your particular engine uses excess diesel injection to raise the exhaust temperature and if this doesn’t happen then the oil level in the sump rises and must be monitored.
Only use a genuine OE sensor.
John

thank you sincerely for that info. A few weeks ago I was getting occasional ''DPF regenerating do not turn off engine'' messages. I did a forced regen on my diagnositc and it ran better but then went back into limp mode everytime accelerate.


My diagnostic was showing turbo codes and it was always going in limp mode, the guy today from AA says this is all related and once the exhaust sensor is changed then the turbo codes will be erased.

There were no codes illuimnated on the car's dashboard.

how much approximately should I expect to pay for a 2014 Insignia exhaust sensro and software update at a garage ? thanks
 
Joined
7 Feb 2008
Messages
24,139
Reaction score
4,908
Location
Northumberland
Country
United Kingdom
The last temperature sensor I replaced was on a Volvo and the price was around the ton.
The Vauxhall one may well be cheaper, but I can’t comment on a software update - or indeed if it’s actually necessary.
John
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
27 Oct 2022
Messages
37
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
The last temperature sensor I replaced was on a Volvo and the price was around the ton.
The Vauxhall one may well be cheaper, but I can’t comment on a software update - or indeed if it’s actually necessary.
John

So if it doesn't need updating I could have done it myself at home ?
I don't trust garages , for all I know he might clean the current sensor and not replace it yet still charge for a new one and updated software.

They have very good reviews but still, I can't be sure .

Also as I dropped it on him last minute do you think that they'd do it Monday if it's only a small job ?
I could real do with the car back for work in Monday evening
 
Joined
7 Feb 2008
Messages
24,139
Reaction score
4,908
Location
Northumberland
Country
United Kingdom
Obviously I can’t comment on your garage and for sure they won’t have the sensor in stock but I’d replace the sensor myself and see how the car runs from there and ignore any updates for the time being.
John
 
Joined
27 Oct 2022
Messages
37
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
Obviously I can’t comment on your garage and for sure they won’t have the sensor in stock but I’d replace the sensor myself and see how the car runs from there and ignore any updates for the time being.
John

I should have dropped car off at my house instead. I Left the key with the guy next door who owns the toy shop so I would feel a little awkward going back and asking for the key back, because I messaged the guy from garage on his mobile number and said I left car there.

AA guy put on report do not drive car away from garage, might be in case he cthinks I call them again if it breaks down, but I know I can clear codes myself now if it did happen again.

I also have a diagnostic tool so if it was to happen again from garage to home if I did decide to take it back I could clear the codes like the AA guy did and it should get me home.

Hopefully if he orders it first thing it will arrive later morning /early afternoon.

I will ask him if he can have it done by Monday and what the approximate cost would be and if he cant do it Monday or I'm not happy with price I might bring car back.

I work at a restaurant doing deliveries, I am missing out on pay for tonight and tomorrow, so I want to have car ready by monday evening so as I can Work Monday Night.


If I did replace the sensor myself at home, and it did need a softweard update would the car still run ok after fitting the new sensor or will it present theser issues again ?

thanks
 
Joined
27 Oct 2022
Messages
37
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
Obviously I can’t comment on your garage and for sure they won’t have the sensor in stock but I’d replace the sensor myself and see how the car runs from there and ignore any updates for the time being.
John

Hi, I collected my car this afternoon because the garage owner said they are busy for next few days so I decided to try fix this myself, hopefully by tomorrow so that I can go work tomorrow.

I looked at the codes I took with my own diagnostic tool and it shows 2 codesm, yet yesterday AA guy just said it needs a sensor he didnt say it needed 2 .

2 codes are

- exhaust gas temp sensor 2 high temperature
- exhaust gas temp sensor 1 - high temperature .

does this mean it needs 2 sensors ?

ty
 
Joined
7 Feb 2008
Messages
24,139
Reaction score
4,908
Location
Northumberland
Country
United Kingdom
Your system would appear to have two sensors - the first measures the exhaust gas temperature and governs DPF regeneration, the secondary one lets the ecu know that regeneration has taken place.
Not all systems have two sensors.
It’s not my place to suggest that both sensors are faulty, only appropriate diagnostic machinery can do that but I would recommend replacing the first one.
John
 
Joined
27 Oct 2022
Messages
37
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
Your system would appear to have two sensors - the first measures the exhaust gas temperature and governs DPF regeneration, the secondary one lets the ecu know that regeneration has taken place.
Not all systems have two sensors.
It’s not my place to suggest that both sensors are faulty, only appropriate diagnostic machinery can do that but I would recommend replacing the first one.
John

Thanks for this help.

I think it might be the sensor 2 that the AA guy says needed changing, this is his report

Patrol found the following fault code/s:System : Engine control - 2C6 / Diesel EDC 17C59 Status 0299 - Charge air pressure. Error Message : Too low. Malfunction. Status 247A - Exhaust gas temperature sensor 2. Error Message : High temperature. Temperature too high. Status 2428 - Exhaust gas temperature. Error Message : Temperature too high. Voltage too low. Status 2263 - Turbocharger charging system. Error Message : Malfunction. Error sporadic. Status 0671 - Glow plug control Cylinder 1. Error Message : Malfunction. Malfunction. Status 2101 - Throttle valve control unit. Error Message : Malfunction. Temperature too low. Status 003A - Exhaust-gas turbocharger solenoid valve. Error Message : Component not adapted. Malfunction.Members concerns of vehicle cut out missfiring amd warning messages, use bosch and find faults with exhaust gas temp sensor, clear faults and follow member to garage. New sensor and software update required as this is a known issue with these vehicles.Engine Oil Level Ok. Coolant Level Ok. Do not drive vehicle away from garage ,new sensor and update required.


No mention there on his report of exhaust gas temperature 1 - high temperature as there is indicated on my diagnostic machine.



I8 don't want to rush out tomorrow and buy a sensor that mgiht be the wrong one, so I need to take some time to figure it out I think before ordering parts and changing them ?

Meanwhile my car seems to be driving ''ok'' as in it has not had the code return for exhaust temp sensor fault and the symptoms of yesterday that it brought.
however it is still in limp mode unless I drive at low revs and don't rev high or suddenly. it has been going into limp mode for weeks with turbo codes but was told these codes could be related to the exhaust sensor ?


Should it be okay for me to drive this for work tomorrow night for work doing deliveries at the restaurant if I don't get to repalce the exhaust temp sensor tomorrow ?

thanks
 
Joined
7 Feb 2008
Messages
24,139
Reaction score
4,908
Location
Northumberland
Country
United Kingdom
The AA man has diagnostic gear costing thousands - mine is in the £300 region, and he has infinitely more experience than me.
Therefore, if he says the car shouldn't be driven I cannot argue against that......limp home modes can vary from not being able to exceed 40 mph to not being able to climb any incline - well scary!
If the car was mine it would be straight in to a Bosch diesel specialist, showing the AA report and get it sorted that way.
Be lucky - I'm not trying to sound negative here but it's not for me to say if the car is safe to drive or not.
John :)
 
Joined
27 Oct 2022
Messages
37
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
The AA man has diagnostic gear costing thousands - mine is in the £300 region, and he has infinitely more experience than me.
Therefore, if he says the car shouldn't be driven I cannot argue against that......limp home modes can vary from not being able to exceed 40 mph to not being able to climb any incline - well scary!
If the car was mine it would be straight in to a Bosch diesel specialist, showing the AA report and get it sorted that way.
Be lucky - I'm not trying to sound negative here but it's not for me to say if the car is safe to drive or not.
John :)

I paid £320 for my Foxwell Diagnostic too l recently.
I think he may have stated '' don't drive car away'' because if it breaks down again, they would have to come out again.

The car can climb hills and exceed 40 mph, its if I accelerate too quickly that it goes into limp mode so therefore I have to drive carefully and keep revs as low as possible.
it has been doing this for weeks, way before the exhaust temp code which only appeared yesterday.

considering the car is just as before, as in goes into limp mode if revved too high, should AI theoretically still be able to drive the car for deliveries tomorrow if I don't get sensor issue sorted tomorrow, could driving with a bad exhaust temp sensor damage dpf or something or not ?

I have 2 cars, the citroen was what I bought recently but I am repalcing the suspensionl ower bushes soon after put arm back on, ironic as the reason for 2 cars was is in case one was broken I could use the other.
 
Joined
27 Oct 2022
Messages
37
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
The AA man has diagnostic gear costing thousands - mine is in the £300 region, and he has infinitely more experience than me.
Therefore, if he says the car shouldn't be driven I cannot argue against that......limp home modes can vary from not being able to exceed 40 mph to not being able to climb any incline - well scary!
If the car was mine it would be straight in to a Bosch diesel specialist, showing the AA report and get it sorted that way.
Be lucky - I'm not trying to sound negative here but it's not for me to say if the car is safe to drive or not.
John :)

Also a few weeks ago after a '' dpf regen do not switch off engine'' I did a forced regen on the car with my tool, each forced regen took 8 minutes. I did 1 one day and again the next. could the high temps of the forced regen have damaged the temp sesnsor ?

I checked oil level and level weas fine

Also, is it worth me trying another forced regen again now or might that damage the sensor further ?

Last time I did forced regen the car was perfect, it stayed out of limp mode for about 2 days and all power was resumed until a few days later
 
Joined
30 Dec 2008
Messages
1,628
Reaction score
218
Location
Cumbria
Country
United Kingdom
Be careful with forced regens. Although the oil level might not have gone up appreciably, sniff the end of the dipstick to see if it smells of diesel. Some manufacturers recommend an oil and filter change after a forced regen, simply because the additional diesel that gets past the piston rings breaks the oil down.

You also seem to have a lot of other faults in that AA report? I'm not familiar with the marque, but I'm wondering whether so many fault codes don't point to some other, more general problem, like a poor engine earth?
 
Joined
22 Nov 2009
Messages
2,174
Reaction score
453
Location
Oldham
Country
United Kingdom
Get rid. A poor choice of car for use as an urban delivery vehicle. What's wrong with the ubiquitous Yaris? There's a reason everyone else is using them. By many accounts, that 2.0 diesel isn't even economical.
 
Sponsored Links
Top