Can anyone tell me what problem I have here?

ODB

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all

I think I may have a damp problem in the extension to my kitchen. I am no expert but I reckon there's moisture behind the plaster, but I can't see any obvious problems from the outside.

Can anyone tell me; does this look like an 'obvious' problem to anyone?

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
There looks like there could be a couple of reasons for this.
Possibly looks likes someone has just plastered over existing limeplaster which may have been damp, when effervescent has formed it pushed out the gypsum. I have also seen this occur where people have plastered walls with filler where theres been damp and filler then blows. Anychance this kitchen work was done just before you bought this place.
Gt yourself a damp metre to check if you have a damp problem.

• Thanks
Reactions: ODB
Yes, there's dampness in the wall from somewhere (have you checked everything outside?). The dampness is trying to get out and it obviously cannot go through the ceramic tiles so it's all pushed to a small area and that flaking is the result. You seem to have a mixture of old lime and new gypsum (and is the outside rendered in cement?).

Lime is meant to breathe through both sides of a wall to allow moisture to escape and thus internally moisture gets into the room and escapes through draughts. If you seal the room up without sufficient ventilation then it has nowhere to go. It is the opposite of modern design where you live in a sealed box; basically lime and gypsum do not mix. Google "period property" + "dampness" and see what you get.

• Thanks
Reactions: ODB
Yes handyman77 I bought the place about a year ago, but it hasn't got any worse (can see from pics I took when I first viewed house). I'm usually pretty good at picking out things like this but the rest of the house was in such a good state I must've ignored it.