Can pipes under a combi boiler be moved?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have just bought a flat, which has the pictured combi boiler installed in an airing cupboard.

As shown in the photo, the installation has a large number of crossing pipes, some of which appear to go down under the floor and some of which go right to the kitchen (and towards the gas meter).

The crossing of the pipes eats up about 15cm of floor space, which makes it impossible to put an appliance (e.g. washing machine) in the cupboard, which I would like to so.

As a complete novice, could someone tell me is it possible to move these pipes with reasonable effort so I could fit an appliance underneath, or is it usually the case that pipes into the floor can't be moved without immense amounts of work?

Attachments

• 20151217_113426.jpg
    20151217_113426.jpg
    54.3 KB · Views: 856
Sponsored Links
Thanks Dan. Would it take much effort to have the crossing pipes moved further up so I can fit the appliance underneath? I am imagining this is a simple "cut here... weld here", or is it way more complicated than that?

** Edit **
Crossing pipes, Magna-Clean and tap moved further up (under the boiler itself), but still leaving the pipes going down into the floor.

Why not look at a shallow depth washing machine? I believe you can get them at only 400mm depth nowadays.

Ps. You didn't mention exactly what appliance you wanted to fit in but you seemed to hint at a washing machine so I went by that!

Sponsored Links
We don't know the dimensions of the area or if the appliance could be fitted facing to the right of the photo.

Certainly the Magnaclean could be moved higher up but there would be a lot of work moving a lot more pipework.

I will also suggest the less deep washing machine. I have one myself, not because I wanted it but it was being sold by a local company almost new and at a very cheap price.

That seems to me to be an easy solution.

Tony