Can RCDs wear out?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a problem with the fuse tripping every time I switch on the washing machine. It started a few months ago when using the machine intermittently tripped the fuse. This got gradually worse until it happened every time.

The washing machine was old so I decided to get a new one. Initially this worked fine and then the problem re-occurred. I then ran an extension lead down from the upstairs circuit. Again this seemed to work for a while but now it is completely impossible to use the washing machine in any socket in the house...

As a complete novice when it comes to electrics I don't know what's the next course of action. An electrician tested the downstairs circuit and could find no fault. He suggested changing the fuse board but I don't want to go down this expensive route if this is not the problem. Unless it is a coincidence (with 2 faulty machines) I can't see how the appliance is at fault.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Russell

Sponsored Links
Did the electrician do a Period Inspection? he'd have given you a certificate, and a sheet of test results. They would be useful. And, a well equipped spark would be able to specifically test the RCD.

Although not exactly unusual for a washing machine to leak a little to earth; it shouldn't be leaking 30mA. It's possible that other things on your circuit are leaking a little current, so that the washing machine pushes it over the edge.

Try unplugging (not just switching off) everything on the same circuit as the washer, and seeing if it then trips the RCD.

If it does not, then reconnect individual items until the RCD trips- you may be able to isolate and entirely different appliance which has a fault.

Thanks for such a quick response!