Can you fix items to external wall tiles?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
My property has these wall tiles and i want to fix a floodlight and cctv cameras but i don't know whether it is possible due to the tiles..

If there is a method, could some explain please?

Failing that, is it possible to fix the items to my wooden sofit/facia board?

Attachments

• IMG_20191122_160528913.jpg
    IMG_20191122_160528913.jpg
    464.1 KB · Views: 366
Sponsored Links
Probably not. Mine seem to be fixed to a wooden batten which is fixed to a single skin wall, and has an air gap.

My alarm bell is fitted to the soffit. I made an L shaped bracket to fix through the soffit.
My neighbour's camera is also fitted to the soffit

As a non professional, I would say yes if you have to, you would have to be a bit clever.
If they are lightweight you could lift some tiles and fix a hanger to the batten, and fix some weatherproof ply to the hanger in such a way that the tiles can go back.
Anything more substantial eg satellite dish you wouldn't fit there, but if you really had to you'd need to remove tiles in the area, create a mounting point and have flashings and all sorts to deflect the water.

Imagine those tiles on a bit of a slant, and on the top of your house, keeping the rain out. Now, would you drill through them?

But if you are hell bent on doing it, you need to locate the position of one of the horizontal battens and drill into that. Then rather than chance gobbing the holes with silicone, cobbling a bit of lead or suchlike as a flashing/slate and tuck it below the lap of the tile above and then dressed over the fixings or bracket as a shroud. This sounds a bit elaborate as text, but you'll get the gist so just follow the principle.

Sponsored Links
So long as your soffit is not asbestos, a lot are, I would fix to that.