Cannes bath - A tiling challenge!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
**Sorry for cross-posting - I am a dozey newbie and posted to "painting and decorating" in error the first time**

We've bought a fancy Cannes bath which we're now having problems tiling around.

It's an odd shape (see http://www.vandabaths.com/uk/bath.php?b=cannes There are some tech drawings at the end of the page if anyone's feeling motivated). The bath does have a lip which could be tiled on to and could be fixed to the wall with battons but curves out at the 'end'. The curve means that (a) it will also need tiling 'up to' from below as the area which would be boxed in on a conventional bath is visible and (b) there will need to be some clever tiling to cope with the curve.

The plan was to tile down to the bath on two sides (the flat edge and one of the long sides which curves out) but the tiler and builder are now saying that they want to tile the walls and floor and then just rest the bath against the tiles and seal with layers of quadrant tiles and gunk. Having spent years struggling with mouldy quadrant tiles which had been retrofitted to our last bath I'm not keen to revisit them - especially as the first fit on such a gorgeous piece of kit.

Does anyone have any good ideas about how to fit this fella? From other messages on the forum it looks like people recommend tiling down to a bath. Is this preferable to the solution my tiler's suggesting? Is it even possible in this case given the curve out - the tiler's not at all keen to do this!

I guess to put it simply - is it better to seal the bath to the wall (with sillicone sealant) and then tile down to it them rim and seal again or is it as good to tile and then just put a bath against the tiles and seal in whatever way we can.

I fear the bath might be appearing on ebay soon if I don't figure this out!

Thanks for any suggestions. Fran

Sponsored Links