Cannot tighten 2 gang switch to wall

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, just signed up.

I've just bought my first house by myself and I'm completely new to DIY and anything involving any kind of tools! I work in IT and have always relied on friends/relatives to help me out but now I have my own place, I want to learn.

ANYWAY, I rewired a new 2 gang switch because the old one that did the lounge and hallway lights was grotty but when screwing it back to the wall, it got to a point and then the screws just start spinning freely.

I'm guessing this is because the holes in the pattress box (is that what it's called?) have smoothed so the screws aren't actually in a thread (I noticed I can just pull them out now) so what are my options?

I'd rather just find a way to use the current box if possible but if I need to replace it, how is this done?

If you need any more information to be able to help, I'll reply asap!

Thanks in advance!

Sponsored Links
Boxes are usually steel and screws are brass (nickel plated) so suggest failure may well be the screw threads since that's the weaker material. You can get replacement screws at your local B&Q amongst others. Just make sure the ones you get are neither too long nor too short.

Hi

It sounds like the box is 15mm and the screws you are using are too long. Take the switch off and try the screws in the box with out the switch . If the fit then screw them in till it touches the back of the box. If the screws are sticking out then they need cutting.

Thanks for quick reply guys. It's definitely not screws as I thought that to begin with and bought a pack of new ones but same problem. The screws basically just slide in and out of holes now (while catching on what little thread is left). They're short enough to not touch back and they are the same size as the old screws which were fine until I changed the switch. I think the holes in the box are just old and smooth.

Sponsored Links
Can you put up a pick?