Cavity wall alternatives

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a house with solid walls, about 230mm/9" thick.

I want to build a single-storey full-width extension across the rear of the house, which will be open to the house, i.e. not separate rooms with doorways. I want to minimise the "step" difference between the existing inside surface of the walls, and the inner skin of the new walls. Are there any alternatives to a "standard" cavity wall, which would probably end up around 100mm thicker than my existing walls?

Am I right in assuming that a plain solid brick wall will no longer meet the regs in terms of insulation value? And are the requirements due to get more onerous in April?

Sponsored Links
b-a-s, two comments on this...

When I added a similar extension in 1986, the existing house (c. 1860) had 9" solid walls, but I was obliged to build cavity walls for the extension. Although, I'm a long way from expert, on the basis of that experience the only reason I can imagine for yours being different would be if it were listed.

Regarding the potentially ugly "step" at the join in the walls, I surmise that you're opening up an outside wall of the house where the extention joins on. If so, then there will be a significant lintel to replace the wall that gets removed. This, again, is similar to something I did, and I was obliged (by the LABC, and quite rightly so) to provide support for the lintel (it was an I frame RSJ) at each end.

My architectural engineer suggested steel uprights, which were a damned site neater than brick piers, and this was accepted by the LABC, albeit with surprisingly deep footings for the base of the steel supports. The uprights were then boxed in, and didn't appear intrusive.

Anyway, my point is, unless I've guessed wrong, you'll be having a meaty lintel, so the piers that support it will far outshadow the "step".