Ceiling light problem

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Okay people, i am no electrician so please bar with me on the electrical terminology. However i do know how to change any simple light from old to new. But unfortunately i have run into a problem.i removed the old light, then notice that there were exactly 7 cables up there. I had three that were ll connected to each other with a fourth wire coming out of it for i guess the negative or positive wire. (I could not tell, no colors, very old building) on the other side i had 4 more cables, 2 of them i definitely know are the live power wires. because i connected a bulb to just those 2 and the bulb lite. Hoever i had another two which are from the light next to it down the hallway. The first 3 wires that werea ll connected came from the bathroom light and the kitchen light. Now my problem is that the same swith (2-way i guest) that control the kitchen light has another one right under it that suppose to control the hallway light i am trying to install. Now my problem is that the light goes on but the switch doen't work anymore. it does not turn it off or on. the light just stay on...what should i do. SOOOOOOOOOOO sOOOO sorry for the long quetion but like i mentioned i'm no electricianand do not knoe the termanology to make this any shorter. Pleease help. it is well appreciated..

Sponsored Links
ahh the typical newbie mistake

always label stuff before removing the existing fitting unless you know exactly whats going on

you say 7 cables do you mean 7 sheathed cables each with several cores or do you mean 7 individual cores