Ceiling Spotlights to LEDs

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello Forum Members

I have 24 ceiling spotlights in my home and am thinking of changing them for LEDs in order to reduce my electricity bills.
I asked an electrician and he as quoted me £900 to supply and fit the 24 lights!!! I am a complete novice but would like to do this myself without killing myself or burning the house down.
The lights I have currently have transformers and are 50W bulbs each.
I would also like to replace the chrome rings.

I am thinking of buying the fittings myself and fitting them.
Can anyone tell me how to do this?
Do I need to change the transformers? And what type of LED fittings I should buy?

Any help would be greatly appriciated.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
I changed some of my 240 volt mains power 50 watt GU10's to LED equivalent bulbs. I bought them on ebay. Sorry I can't remember exactly how much I paid but at a guess I'd say a couple/few quid each. They've been fitted for about 2 years now and I've not had any problems. They were direct replacements and therefore simply screwed in where the old bulbs came out, with no changing of holders or fitting of transformers etc. Obviously mine aren't in a zone which is required to be 12 volt tho. Perhaps if yours are similar it might be an idea to do away with the lowered voltage and do the same.

Sounds like a couple of days work.

Changing the downlights is not just the "rings" its the whole fitting, and you'd need to find some the same size hole or cost on making each one bigger to suit (you can't make them smaller).

So that brings it down to about £20 per LED downlight, not so bad. But yes, you could do it yourself. How hard can it be?

There are transformers and there are inverters often also called transformers. With a transformer it is simple unplug the tungsten and plug in the LED however with the inverter there is a minimum as well as maximum so they would require changing.