Cement mixer

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm after a cement mixer and wanted some advice on what to look for as I'm a complete novice.

The reason I want one is I have a lot of garden works which as a DIYer who has to consult the internet and YouTube, it would not be economical for me to hire one.

I have 2 small walls i would like to build and some paving slabs to lay for a patio.

Screwfix will do me an electric mixer with 134L drum and stand for £299 - Is that decent or am I missing something? I'd rather pay less but I guess I can sell it on when I eventually finish or give up! :LOL:

Can it be left outside under a tarp?

EDIT: Just seen a Charles Bentley 63L for £180 on Amazon. Anyone with experience of this brand?

Cheers

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
Belle was always a good make - good enough for you to see builders all over the place using them, and for the hire fleets to offer them. Part of the reason, I'm sure, is parts availability - if you can get parts then you can repair them (mine once got dropped so badly it needed a new drum - it was delivered overnight). I had that one (a 110v model) for about 10 years when I was rebuilding a couple of houses. The main problem these days is the price - you are looking at £450+, but secondhand ones fetch reasonable prices and seem to retain their value if looked after, so a clean second hand one might be a good buy

Last edited by a moderator:
I have a belle, worth its weight in gold and holds their resale value. Stored under a builders bulk bag.

Sponsored Links
I got got a cheap one from Screwfix , £220, used it 2 years then sold it on for £180. Just spend time to clean thoroughly after use .

Any tips on cleaning a cement mixer?

Do I just hose it down when done?