1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Central heating system destroying controllers

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by jmeads, 5 Nov 2020.

  1. jmeads

    jmeads

    Joined:
    21 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a Y Plan central heating system that's been work well until recently however the issue that is occurring is the relays in the controller get stuck in the on position. This causes the heating or the hot water to be constantly on regardless of the thermostat or cylinder stat or schedule.

    It seems to affect either the HW or CH or both and doesn't happen straight away, everything works fine for a couple of days and then it occurs. This issue has broken a nest heat link and another cheaper controller, currently a Wiser controller is getting a sticky CH contact - with the wiser by clicking the manual override a few times is currently resetting it.

    I've confirmed this with the power off using a multi-meter to check the HW / CH contacts.

    I've checked and rechecked the wiring and cannot see the problem. The heating wiring is powered from a fused 3 amp feed.

    Any ideas what might be causing this issue?

    wiring1.jpg ch2.jpg
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Madrab

    Madrab

    Joined:
    4 Oct 2012
    Messages:
    7,921
    Thanks Received:
    2,235
    Location:
    East Renfrewshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That doesn't make sense, even with the programmer calling for heat, either in CH or HW mode, the stats override the programmer when it comes to sending a SL to the boiler either via the MPV or directly. I'd check the wiring again.

     
  4. jmeads

    jmeads

    Joined:
    21 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry I wasn't clear, your right, the cylinder stat only calls for heat when the tank is under temperature, however when this happens on the HW relay, it just means that the hot water ignores any schedule that's been set

    For the CH, the room stat is "build in" to the programmer (just like the nest) so CH-on is directly connected to the white lead on the 3 port valve (5 in your pic above) so when the relay sticks CH is always calling for heat.
     
  5. Madrab

    Madrab

    Joined:
    4 Oct 2012
    Messages:
    7,921
    Thanks Received:
    2,235
    Location:
    East Renfrewshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok so no matter what, the programmer is outputting it's SL regardless of it's timings, which you reckon is down to a fused relay in the programmer?

    If that's the case I'd take it back to basics, check your supply is ok (polarity etc) get a cheap analogue room stat and basic 2 channel programmer, remove your current programmer/stat and wire it all up again and see if it still gets an issue. If it still happens then it can only be an electrical issue (polarity or miswired) if it's still over cooking the relays and fusing them.

    Silly question, it's definitely a 3A fuse? Has any other wiring in the CU etc been changed recently?
     
  6. jmeads

    jmeads

    Joined:
    21 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok, will try that and see if there's still an issue (weirdly it does take time to show up).

    I just double checked the fuse and it's definitely 3A and is 100% not polarity issue, the wiring matches your image above, except for CH-on going straight to 5, and the boiler and pump have live wired to 8, there's no SL on the boiler, no wiring changes other than swapping out the failed controllers.

    The boiler is fairly new, was replaced about 2 years ago, the oldest items are the pump and the cylinder stat.

    Could the pump be pulling too many amps when the radiators start closing down? (maybe just spiking too fast for the 3A fuse to blow?) is it worth replacing this?
     
  7. oilhead

    oilhead

    Joined:
    29 Nov 2009
    Messages:
    2,087
    Thanks Received:
    503
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What boiler and pump do you have?
     
  8. jmeads

    jmeads

    Joined:
    21 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The boiler is a Glow worm Easicom 3 25r
    The pump is British Gas labelled Grunfos Multihead G
     
  9. Sponsored Links
  10. jackthom

    jackthom

    Joined:
    14 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    1,342
    Thanks Received:
    236
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you checked the actual voltage at the orange wire of the 3 port valve when the boiler fires with no intended demand from heating or DHW, ie is there the full 230V triggering the boiler or is it some much lower voltage?
    It's not unknown for the valve to pass through a voltage sufficient to fire up some boilers, even when there is no real demand.
     
  11. jmeads

    jmeads

    Joined:
    21 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok, I think I have found the issue Glow worm Easicom 3 25r is wired up directly to the controller, from the manual https://www.glow-worm.co.uk/glow-wo...installation-manual-0020238431-01-1411353.pdf

    Page 15
    Conditions: 230 V 3-wire connection ▶ Ensure that the controller is designed for a maximum rated current of 7 A. ▶ Connect the controller to the main plug X1.

    So the controllers are not rated at 7A !!!

    Looks like a need an eBus controller?
     
  12. picasso

    picasso

    Joined:
    8 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    10,529
    Thanks Received:
    2,626
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Grundfos pumps were causing programmers to fail a while back , I would change the pump before any thing else.
     
  13. Madrab

    Madrab

    Joined:
    4 Oct 2012
    Messages:
    7,921
    Thanks Received:
    2,235
    Location:
    East Renfrewshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Took the words right out of my mouth, I'm just reading the Wiser manual and it has a max switch rating of 2.5A, whereas the 230V connection on the boiler needs a 7A switch rating on the controller according to the boiler MI.

    How that works though I'm not sure given the input power supply must be @ 3A but if the current was higher then it could cause the relay's to fuse
     
  14. picasso

    picasso

    Joined:
    8 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    10,529
    Thanks Received:
    2,626
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have s look at inrush current to see why your programmers are welding relay contacts.
     
  15. jackthom

    jackthom

    Joined:
    14 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    1,342
    Thanks Received:
    236
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's a bizarre current switching requirement for a room thermostat connection. Maybe a more hefty mains voltage operated relay would be a good idea to buffer the controls into the boiler.
     
  16. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page