certification of boiler move

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello and thanks to all that reply, I’m sure this post will cause a reaction will all corgi guys but I am going to post it and see what responses I get.

I have moved an inconveniently positioned combi boiler to a new position in a small house including connection and a new flue system (6 months ago). I am fully aware I shouldn’t have connected it but please when replying bare in mind I am an engineer (HND Mech), I have done loads of copper plumbing and studied the vaillant manuals for weeks!

My question is this: I now intend to rent the house out, obviously I need a landlords certificate however although completely confident there are no leaks in the flue or gas, would prefer a completion certification prior to landlords cert. how or should I get the job certified? Can it be certified or will they want to redo the connection/flue?

All responses welcome even if they contain abuse for connecting it!!!

Sponsored Links
You can get a landlords certificate for the property from a corgi registered engineer provided it passes the safety checks but you won't get anyone to sign the installation off or register it with corgi. It's illegal for you to have done the work and when you sell the house you may have a problem.

Can of worms :LOL: I can see the mods looking over me shoulder all ready :LOL:

What you have done has not broken any laws yet.

You can notify the boiler move direct to building control, they may not be happt with the new position, flue etc and want it moved or altered.

The landlords cert, phone up an RGI and say you want one, and they will pass or fail as the case may be, just don't tell them its been moved, although it would be a sound idea to get the gas and pressure tested.

Sponsored Links