Changing a ceiling light, multiple cables

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Evening,

We live in a new build (if that makes a difference) I've changed a couple of the lights over and they have been fairly straightforward.

Today I went to do one in the hall way and there are 3 cables connected into the old fitting each with a live neutral and earth, one with an additional black cable. There are 2 that have "sleeves" on them which I assume means they are the switch cable? The new light I'm fitting just needs a live and neutral connecting.

I've read through a few posts and apologies if I have this totally wrong but do I connect the two sleeved cables into the new fitting and get connected blocks and connect the remaining 3 brown together, 2 blue together and 3 earth together? I've attached photos to show the existing and new.

Any help is greatly appreciated, as you'll be able to tell I'm no electrician.

Attachments

• PXL_20240120_190301101.jpg
    PXL_20240120_190301101.jpg
    136.7 KB · Views: 68
  • PXL_20240120_190231051.jpg
    PXL_20240120_190231051.jpg
    109.4 KB · Views: 69
Sponsored Links
Edited... At the switch position is there a neutral in a connector block ( not connected to the switch ) . Were all the neutrals connected together in the old fittings neutral terminal block? Did you take a pic of connections before removing the old light fittings ?
I would make all the connections in a maintenance free junction box that can sit in the ceiling void ,and from there run a 2 core flex to the fitting .

Last edited:
Edited... At the switch position is there a neutral in a connector block ( not connected to the switch ) . Were all the neutrals connected together in the old fittings neutral terminal block? Did you take a pic of connections before removing the old light fittings ?
I would make all the connections in a maintenance free junction box that can sit in the ceiling void ,and from there run a 2 core flex to the fitting .