changing kitchen doors

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
A complete novice at this diy so a couple of quick questions if i hire a joiner he looks like hes going to howdens to get the doors etc.
1)Do i pay him to get them or do i just pay at the end of the job whats the normal procedure.
Next question this is my oven

2)Is there a way i can get a black gloss door hinged to the trim or is it to thin .I need it to go cover the oven all the way to the floor.
I am still playing with different ideas there is so many decisions to make.AARRGHH
This has been a very useful form so probably many questions to follow.

Sponsored Links
You can get him to give you a price for the job, Howdens may give him a discount which he may or may not pass on to you. Can't cover an oven up, dangerous, can't think of any reason you would want to and how would you make the door handle on the oven disappear.?

Is your worry handing over money to someone to go and buy the doors etc before the job is done? If so, as Foxhole said, get a quote, or two. The carpenter should tell you his terms and conditions but don't be surprised if he asks for materials money.
If you were building an extension you would expect to pay the contractor as he goes. So it is reasonable to expect that a one man business may ask for a deposit to cover the cost of materials. If he is reputable and you feel you can trust him I see nothing wrong with that. After all you will probably be a stranger to him too so why should he buy your materials and finance the job, wait until the job is done and your happy, before he gets his material cost back. It is trust both ways, but if still worried, if your chosen guy is a proper tradesman he wont mind you going to Howden or wherever to make the material payments yourself. You will own the goods then.

And re the oven, nothing combustible on, around or over it. Oven will also require air flow so you cant block that.

All the best with your job.