Changing looped pendant light from Rose to one without connectors

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm in the process of changing a basic rose pendant light to a new fitting and have a question about how to handle a connected light. Please forgive me or ask clarifying questions if I've got anything wrong here - I'm very new to any electrical work.

I have changed out the old dining room pendant for the new one, but it looks as though the sitting room light was connected through a loop via the dining room light (controlled by the same switch), and the new pendant for the dining room does not have enough connectors to loop in the living room. So now my new dining room light works, but the sitting room does not work as it is no longer connected.

As you can see from the attached photos, I have the extra cable coming down which has nowhere to go in the new pendant.

I'd like to find out what the best way to handle this is? There seems to be a fair bit of room in the new pendant housing to house connectors, I imagine what I need to do is buy some connectors to be able to link up the cable going to the living room light? Something like the Wago 224 connectors? Is that right? If so, which ones would I need, and would I need a junction box to house them, or can they just go loose in the pendant housing? I want to make sure to get it right as I'd read that there are regulations around this which can invalidate house insurance in case of an accident.

Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• new pendant.jpg
    new pendant.jpg
    190.4 KB · Views: 76
  • ceiling.jpg
    ceiling.jpg
    115.6 KB · Views: 74
  • wires.jpg
    wires.jpg
    113.1 KB · Views: 74
Sponsored Links
Connect both cables to their respective terminals in the new fittings connector block. I assume the second cable just feeds the other light fitting ,and both fittings are controlled by one switch ?
And your wiring is incorrect polarity.

Last edited: