1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Changing twin dimmer to normal light switch - neutral query

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Jon Connon, 30 May 2021.

  1. Jon Connon

    Jon Connon

    Joined:
    30 May 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am looking at changing an existing twin dimmer switch to a standard 2 gang 2 way switch in a living room.

    When i removed to have a look at the wires i noticed that the black neutral wires from each cable had been joined together in a terminal strip and just the red live wires are connected to the L1 and L2 terminals for each block.

    I am assuming that some dimmers do not need a Neutral connected and that i just need to remove the terminal strip and pair up the wires from each cable and then wire to the com (black neutral) / L1 / L2 (red) as normal for each block.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,442
    Thanks Received:
    4,201
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    No, you need to leave the Neutrals as they are.
    They actually are Neutrals; not just black wires.
    The lights work like that so why would it need altering?

    Connect the red wires to the new switch.

    Post a clear picture of the switch terminals if you don't know which wire goes where.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    9,927
    Thanks Received:
    1,989
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Dimmers do not have neutral connections.
    Normal switches don't have neutral connections either.

    The new switch is wired in exactly the same way as the dimmer is now.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. Jon Connon

    Jon Connon

    Joined:
    30 May 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you very much both for the quick response. So it is just the case of replicating the red live wires from the current dimmer to the L1/L2 terminals on the new switch and ignore the common single terminal on each block ?
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,553
    Thanks Received:
    2,132
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Your picture in the first post it too blurred and cannot see what wires are in which terminals.

    Please post a useable picture, or detail what fires are in which terminals.
     
  7. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,442
    Thanks Received:
    4,201
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Mark the wires first so they don't get mixed up.


    For each switch -

    put the two wires that are together in COMMON and the other wire in L1.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. 333rocky333

    333rocky333

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    8,426
    Thanks Received:
    902
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That seems unlikely to work
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. Sponsored Links
  10. Jon Connon

    Jon Connon

    Joined:
    30 May 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hopefully a little clearer.
    Thanks for the advice

    Dimmer

    Cable 1 Cable 2
    red red red red
    | | | |
    O O O O
    |____|

    So 2 wires from each cable going to a terminal on each block.
    Also a red wire from one block to the other block
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: 30 May 2021
  11. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,553
    Thanks Received:
    2,132
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok. Still not too clear as can’t see the terminal names on the old switch. But, from your last pic, it looks like:

    the red nearest in the pic goes to L1 on one of the switches.

    then you have a red wire that is linked to another terminal (?).
    That red goes to a Com terminal and the link wire goes to the other com terminal. If the link wire has another red at the other end, that also goes to the com terminal.

    that leaves you with one red wire, anc that goes to the other L1 terminal.
     
  12. Jon Connon

    Jon Connon

    Joined:
    30 May 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Last edited: 30 May 2021
  13. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,442
    Thanks Received:
    4,201
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Yes, if you use the correct terminals.
     
  14. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,442
    Thanks Received:
    4,201
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    You should only have ONE wire from each cable; i.e four - plus the link.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  15. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,553
    Thanks Received:
    2,132
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  16. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page