1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Click Consumer Unit & RCDs

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by ricky101, 11 Jan 2019.

  1. ricky101

    ricky101

    Joined:
    11 Oct 2013
    Messages:
    129
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    About 14 years ago we had a new Click consumer unit fitted which had a 100a master switch with 4 MCBs and 4 RCDs with their own 63a rcd master switch.

    The 4 internal circuits were connected to the MCBs and the external lights and garage were connected to the RCDs.

    A friend recently said that they should all be on RCDs , but was not sure if thats just for new installations, can anyone clarify if we need to update it ?

    Have been looking on the web, but seems no trace of Click or any of the individual breakers, does anyone know if they are still available or are other brands plug compatible ?

    Thanks
     
  2. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    3,936
    Thanks Received:
    353
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think your terminology is wrong.

    A picture maybe better.

    Regulations aren’t retrospective though
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. ricky101

    ricky101

    Joined:
    11 Oct 2013
    Messages:
    129
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    Yes , sorry, got it wrong its a 63A RCB with 4 MCBs

    As you can see in the pic its currently using 7 circuits though the Hifi or External lights could be easily commoned , so that would mean only 6 circuits are needed, so giving space for a second 63A RCB ....

    Its a small bungalow hence only one circuit for sockets.



    IMG_1031.JPG
     
  4. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    3,936
    Thanks Received:
    353
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. 333rocky333

    333rocky333

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    7,170
    Thanks Received:
    668
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Its what was known as a split load board, its odd that the sockets where not on the Rcd side, as that tended to be the done thing, even though it was not a requirement, unless the sockets where likely to be used for outside equipment, ie a lawnmower, i quess people often thought it was safer, but was a pain in the event of nuisance tripping.
    Nowadays the lights and the sockets would need Rcd protection, though 14 years ago it was likely not needed.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. ricky101

    ricky101

    Joined:
    11 Oct 2013
    Messages:
    129
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    Thanks, will have a look inside and see how compatible those RCBOs are.

    Think it should be easy enough to transfer the sockets and lights to the RCB side, remember when he did it he said he liked to have plenty of free cable to play around with rather than pulling things tight as some do.

    The stand alone garage has since been fitted with a modern RCB garage consumer unit, so that actually frees up another rcb line.
     
  7. 333rocky333

    333rocky333

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    7,170
    Thanks Received:
    668
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not if the cable supplying that unit is buried less than 50mm deep in a wall.
    Its RCD Residual Current Device by the way :)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. ricky101

    ricky101

    Joined:
    11 Oct 2013
    Messages:
    129
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    Thanks, some good options there , though adding one or two extra RCBO etc, if they would fit, will cost a fair bit.

    One thing that has always concerned us, is that the plastic box is located low down in a small cloak/cupboard and we store things like the ironing board and upright vac in there , which if not careful could bash into and crack the box.

    Notice that a new metal cased MK 16 consumer unit with 10 MCBs and 2 63A RCDs is under £70 and with a voucher we have it could be under £65.
    Seems the MK layout is similar our current Click units so should not present wiring length problems, unlike the BG ones.

    Does that sound like the better way ?
     
  9. boringoldcodger

    boringoldcodger

    Joined:
    1 Sep 2014
    Messages:
    60
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm no spark so can't comment on your idea, but normally people say that new CUs need notifying to your Local Authority's Building Control and it's nearly always cheaper to get it installed by a professional who can self-notify (via his trade body) than to pay the BC's fees.
     
  10. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,756
    Thanks Received:
    2,856
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Plus there is a lot of testing needed which is not something the OP is going to be able to do.
     
Loading...

Share This Page