Cold spots on wall ?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all I,m new on hear I've got. A question I need some advice on please . I'm a joiner by trade and have a good understanding of the building game . What it is on a gable wall in my living room I have recently noticed what looks to be the dab marks from the plaster board showing through the top foot of my wall all the way along . The room is a decent size and they are all about the same height so guessing dab . Now panic set in and I instantly thought damp ingress from the cavity wall some how finding its way through the dabs. The wall is painted in Maggie . , when I shine a torch directly at the wall they aren't visable . And they don't seem to be showing any tell tale water marks . However the wall is cold to the touch . Is it feasible that with the weather getting colder these marks are cold spots ? Ps wall does fell quite cooL. The wall is a cavity wall and would be surprised if water had bridge it the length of the entire room . The house is around 25/ evo years old and be live it had the blown in insulation .

Sponsored Links
Johnhjonny5, good evening, and Welcome to the board, This being your first post in here!

OK so you have a 25 year old property, was it originally a Council Built / Let property?

You note that the Cavity may have Blown Fiber Cavity Wall insulation?

If the Insulation was installed by the Council and the Installation was some time ago say 10+ Years ago then there is a very high possibility that your property is suffering from bridging of the cavity caused by saturated blown insulation in the cavity, BUT???

We have had an extremely dry November, nationwide?

As for the use of the torch? My preferred option for using a torch is NOT to direct the beam directly at the wall, hold the torch Parallel to the wall and scan the beam up and down, the brighter the beam washing over the wall the more defects are located, I have a 1,000 Lumen Led-Lenzer it works well.