Commission

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, my dilemma is this.. I've been a qualified painter for the last 25 years, just moved to a new area in U.K. so have no client base, a relative who's a builder has given me painting work but takes £5 an hour off me in commission for supplying me with the work. Not sure if this is normal, but what about tax, if I'm giving 10k away a year on commission do I just tell tax office when doing self assessment, as he's a relative don't really want to drop him in the brown stuff. Replies would be appreciated as far as commission goes as this is new to me.

Sponsored Links
He seems to be charging you quite a lot. If he was a friend or family-oriented you might give him a drink now and again, or a bottle at Christmas, but he seems to be acting like he is your agent or you are his sub-contractor.

If you are a subbie you only have to declare the payment you receive.

As for commission, either you pay income tax on it, or he does. Since he is getting the money, he should be paying the tax. Perhaps he thinks it is an under-the-counter tax-free payment, but it seems unfair that you are having to pay tax on money you don't get. He's not showing himself to be much of a relative.

If you are working locally, get plenty of cards and flyers printed. Tell your satisfied customers that if they recommend you to a friend and get a job out of it, you will pay them £10.

If you have your own van, get it signwritten or buy magnetic signs saying Joe Bloggs of Bermondsey (or wherever), professional painter, established 1991, free estimates, no obligation. Park it prominently wherever you are working. Make it look clean and tidy. Give a flyer to anyone who stops on the pavement and has a look.