Setting up properly as sole trader

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've been doing handyman jobs for a few years now. Little bits here and there alongside a full time job, then later an apprenticeship. I've managed to stay under any tax threshold, only doing odd little £20-50 jobs. I have liability insurance, but no other aspects of business setup.

I recently took on a cosmetic internal refurb job in an empty rental property (for somebody I "met" on this forum in fact). The total bill for labour is likely to be around £2k, as well as materials of £500-600. So I'm straight away over the "allowed tertiary earning" threshold or whatever its called. Added to that, I'm busier than ever with my normal jobs, regular customers asking me back and new customers asking for small jobs. I'm snowed under.

Anyway, going forward I will be qualifying as an electrician during this year and plan to do work in that vein once qualified. But for the time being I want to "formalise" my work as sole trader status and pay my share of tax especially as I'm giving an invoice for this big job. Is it as simple as registering m myself for self assessment and getting a business bank account in my business name for now? Is there anything else I need to do?

Also, dare I ask what I need to do if I've got my dad and father in law helping me on a job?

Sponsored Links
All you have to do really is tell the taxman

You don't need a business bank account. Your bank would probably prefer if you had one, as they can then charge you for it!

Sponsored Links
Also, dare I ask what I need to do if I've got my dad and father in law helping me on a job?
'If' you pay them, keep a record and put it down as a legitimate business expense same as you would if you employed a subby. Let them worry about reporting that to HMRC.

I've managed to stay under any tax threshold, only doing odd little £20-50 jobs.
You are allowed up to £1000 per year for that, which is very little even with small payments.