Concrete amount??

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
good evening all,

I know this is a proper basic question but I can't seem to find a decent calculator online. Im quite handy with most job but I have never messed with concrete so looking for some help. I have an 8ft x 10ft shed which I want to make a concrete floor for. I'm happy building the timber frame (although unsure what is the best wood) to pour the concrete in but how much do I need to order of rough sand, cement and aggregate? I'll probably do the frame 10x12.(1 foot extra all the way round for the wife to decorate with plants) and around 4 inches deep.

Regards

Sponsored Links
Good morning Andy,

It came up at 1.13m3, doesn't sound a lot. What do you think? Also it doesn't say how big of a bag indeed of each.

Sorry for the questions but like I said, I'm completely new to laying concrete!!

Regards

You will need two tonne bags of ballast and 13 x 25kg bags of cement for a 100mm thick base of that size.

Sponsored Links
Noseall,

That's great, thanks. But....what's ballast? Lol Is that sand and aggregate mixed?

What mixing ratio do you recommend? I was thinking 4 to 1 but once again, not really sure.

Is 4 inches deemed to be the standard for a timber shed base of the OP's size?

Is it a good idea to add reinforcement mesh atall???

On Amazing Spaces I saw a guy place his posts in buckets of cement instead of a slab, the buckets being in the ground. I think he used six in all. Thought it was a clever solution, anyone done that???

Foot,

Is that bucket thing on the Internet to have a look at? I was just in the garden planning the frame work to pour into. I'm open for any other ideas.

Do I use this with just cement? 6:1 ratio. Do I need pva or plastasiser like when you build a wall?
image.jpg

DIYnot Local

Staff member

If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.