Concrete expansion joints - what to use???

Reaction score
Country
Ireland
Hi all,

First time posting here, found many good answers to DIY questions but haven't been able to figure this one out

I'm putting down a concrete base for a wooden shed in the garden. Base is 3m x 2.7m and 75mm deep with 75mm gravel underneath

It's my first time working with concrete and I'm mixing it myself so I'm trying to ensure I've all the bases covered.

The base will be bordered on two sides, a block wall at the back and a wooden fence at the side. I want to take the concrete right up to both.

On the fence side I'm going to place a length of treated wood as the border of the form and leave it there. I wasn't planning to put anything between the pad and the block wall

Now, I'm pretty sure I should put down expansion joints between the pad and the wall/fence. But, I can't figure out how to make them or what materiel to use. The only thing I've found is Flexcell strips below

https://www.goodwins.ie/products/Flexcell-Strip-12.5mm-150mm-X-2.44-Mtr.html

I'm thinking I'll place these down on the wall & fence sides before laying the concrete, then cover then with outdoor rated sealant after the concrete is cured. Does this sound right or am I completely bonkers?

Are there any other materials I can consider as the only place that sells this stuff is a bit of a distance away from me?

Sponsored Links
Here's a picture to help describe what I'm doing

Attachments

• IMG_20190416_112148.jpg
    IMG_20190416_112148.jpg
    261.3 KB · Views: 305
who is reponsible for the maintenance of the fence and wall?

Sponsored Links
not your neighbour, then?

you will have to allow room for maintenance, especially for replacement of the fence when the timber rots. And possibly for the rescue of trapped kittens etc.

not your neighbour, then?

you will have to allow room for maintenance, especially for replacement of the fence when the timber rots. And possibly for the rescue of trapped kittens etc.