Concrete posts and panel fencing.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have to install a panel fence using concrete posts. I have never used concrete posts before, only timber and Godfathers. The panels will be 1.8mts with a 200mm gravel board.

My question is, is it entirely feasible that the fence can be erected in such a way that the panels can be lifted out of the slots of the posts if it becomes necessary in the future ? I will set the posts in concrete but it appears to me that the final positioning is ultra-critical. I should add that I have my own 3CX so the lifting part is easy.

Can anyone tell me what sort of clearances we have between the posts and panels.

Thanks for any help and advice that anyone can give.

Sponsored Links
If you're using gravel boards that will sort out the spacings for you. Keep all the posts plumb and the panels will lift out easily when you need to. When I do a fence I will set the first post in the ground then fit board and panel to it and then the next post and so on propping it with timber to keep it correctly positioned until everything has set .

cant help with clearance, but i cant say i have even seen a fence panel that hasnt been able to slide out, and im pretty sure the concrete should slide out too. in fact isnt the idea you put the posts in, then slide all the panels in afterwards.

If i were you i would just google fence panel measurements, i would think there is enough info out there

it is usual to set one post, hold up the panel, set the second post so it fits tightly to the panel, repeat. It is possible to do all the posts first, for example if you are worried that strong wind will move them before concrete is set, but you have to be very accurate.

Mine slide in and out, but it is quite difficult. You would have to set the posts so that they are not a very tight fit, e.g. by using cardboard spacers, which will rot away afterwards.