Configuration on a split load unit

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

quick question for peace of mind.

Bearing in mind the following MCB's how would you split them in a split load CU. Which ones on the RCD side.

45 AMP - Shower
32 AMP - 6Kw Hob
32 AMP - Kitchen Ring (freezer, oven, sockets)
32 AMP - Upstairs Ring
32 AMP - Downstairs ring
16 AMP - Water Heater
6 AMP - Upstairs lighting
6 AMP - Downstairs Lighting

I will put the shower on the RCD side, not sure about the rest.

Cheers :)

Sponsored Links
Are you a trained electrician?

If not, then why are you fiddling around with MCBs in a CU?

If you are, then why don't you already know the answers that you seek? I'm a plumber and even I know.

Shower - Very good practice to have it on RCD
Hob - None RCD... they can get 'leaky' when old and nuisence trip
Kitchen Ring -RCD... you might use an extension lead through the back door (regs) and kitchen is one place with water and portable appliances (good practice)
Upstairs ring - 50/50 I'd RCD it, someone might drag an extension lead into the bathroom
Downstairs ring... RCD, you might use an extension lead out the door
Water Heater - Non RCD, same reasons as hob
Both lighting, Non RCD (don't want to be plunged into darkness)

Would advise separate non rcd for freezer if possible, also must ditto softus

hi

Thanks for the reply Adam_151. :)

I thought this was a forum for DIY not just the pros, as softus may think!

I guess you were born with all the knowledge softus! Only asking your advice, so that i can understand it better.

I wouldn't do any job until i had an understanding of what i was doing, no matter how simple!

cheers :)

Sponsored Links