Construction methods for self build

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm starting to look into moving with the missus and due to rising fuel costs and desire to start a work from home buisness. Am considering the benefits of doing a self build.

The layout would be 2 bed bungalo (one bedroom kitted out as my office/lab), bathroom, toilet and open plan kitchen/living/dining area.

Being a control system engineer, I am keen to intergrate a lot of 'smart home' features. as well as high efficiency, but as cheaply as possible. The following are a list of features I'm considering, can anyone forsee these plans falling foul of building regs?

1) Solid concrete walls throughout (hollow blocks laid without morter then filled with concrete). Then barriered, insulated and rendered over cement-board. The huge thermal mass within insualtion should keep the interior at a constant temperature.

2) flat roof (used to mount solar panels to or grass) designed with required structural support to enable roof garden or similar.

3) Heating/cooling would be achieved by embedding pipes in some of the internal walls prior to the concrete fill. Coolant would then be pumped through this as an isolated system allowing heating or cooling via heat exchangers. This would include tapping heat from kitchen exhaust/ open fire/gas boiler/solar...etc

4) All wiring, piping, control cables to be run through narrow 'loft' area above a floating ceiling. Only waste will be run under the floor.

5) Slab foundation with concrete suspended floor. What is the situation with insulating these?

6) some parts of the walls would be left as frames and filled with lower density blocks. The idea being that they can be knocked out as extensions are required (growing family). Likewise, cables and pipes would be available in the loft space above these openings ready to hook up.

Any thoughts or suggestions on energy improving measures or cost cutting measures?

Cheers.

Sponsored Links