Cordless Drill Spec's

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,
I'm a student doing a CAD project and have to do some research to see whether my drill meets requirements of people who would use it.

------------------------------------------

My Drill Proposal

Power

As I want my cordless drill to be powered for as long as possible its going to be powered by a Lithium-ion 20V 4Ah battery. If the drill is not used, and stored with excess battery power. The leakage of power will be minimal, as it is Lithium. It is also a light weight battery choice, so the light battery will ensure for a more comfortable drill.

Torque

12 torque settings. 600 in-lbs of maximum torque / 68 Nm.

Chuck

The chuck fastening will be unusual. It will be controlled via the microprocessor through the LCD screen. When the user needs to change the drill bit, they will select what drill bit they require, then the chuck will open the automatically to the correct size for the bit. This option can easily be de-activated and alternatively controlled via the bezelled grasp next to the chuck. This design will make the drill more compact, light weight and easier to operate (no key to lose).

Speed

Variable speed controller via a trigger button operate. Speeds 0-400,0-1200,0-2000. Controlled via a click-wheel on the trigger button for easy access, clockwise for higher speeds, anti-clockwise for lower speeds. OR via the LCD display.

Weight

I’m aiming for my drill to approximately, 1.5Kg. It will be the lightest drill on the market. This will increase awareness of the product by being ‘The lightest cordless drill of it’s kind’.
And also be comfortable to be used for excessive periods of time.

Eronmics