Correct Masonry Drill Bit For EXTERNAL WALL

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm hanging a very heavy mirror on a wall that is plaster on brick or possibly plaster, then breeze block , then brick. Its a solid external wall anyway, I tried screwing into it before and got no further than about half an inch when I hit the brick/breeze block. So I've bought grey nylon plugs 10mmx50mm which come supplied with screws size 6mmx60mm. Sold as suitable for masonry, brick, concrete.

I've never done this before. Bit of a novice. I'm guessing at an 8mm masonry bit but that is just a guess. So what is the best sized drill bit? Should the hole be the length of the screw or the length of the plug?

The mirror has steel loops on the back to hang directly off the screws, so that aspect is sorted.

Sponsored Links
How old is the house and how thick is the wall (measure at a door or window opening). Typically about 9" or 13", plus plaster.

What colour was the dust that came out, and how deep did you drill?

What colour is the drill bit you used? Masonry bits are typically silver, and twist drills (for wood etc) typically black.

Post a pic of the tip if you can.

Are the plasplugs in a block, with a rectangular piece in the middle, with information and holes in it?

Example
ae235.jpeg

Or with a cardboard wrapper like this?

upload_2022-2-24_0-38-31.png

The hole has to be as deep as the plug is long, or the screw, whichever is longer. Disregard the thickness of the plaster, which has no strength. Tap the plug slightly below the surface to reduce cracking of the plaster.

Thanks for your reply.