Couple of problems with my home, help appriciated...

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi i'm new to any forums like this and was really looking for some direction and help. I have a semi detatched house built 1912 time that is single brick. I am having problems inside on my outside wall side and wanted the best solution to remedy this!

Mould is growing next to the front door upwards to the ceiling and about 3ft across at the bottom in a triangle shape, the wall up the stairs is fine and into the bathroom is also good then it starts again round the toilet (same wall) and onto the back wall (both starting in the corners and rising) again triangular)

There is no heating in the stairs or landing and only a towel radiator in the bathroom, no air brick that I can see but the bathroom has an uprated extractor fan.

Whats my next steps, boarding out the bathroom and stairs (needs it as it's freezing!) air bricks too?

Alot of the black wipes straight off but just showing it at it's worst.

Thanks for your time

Adam

015_zps7dddbba8.jpg

014_zpsea542a81.jpg

016_zpsc129c280.jpg

017_zpsd9d63237.jpg

019_zpscdaf40aa.jpg

Sponsored Links
First step is to check outside for blown / cracked render leaking downpipes gutters etc.

Is that a dehumidifier on the landing? Good idea but you need to leave the doors open for air to circulate. You need heating in the hall too.

You may get some help from a product like Wallrock thermal liner to make the inner wall warmer to resist condensation.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T9Q072gox7I

Many posts I have responded to regarding this....

The first thing to do is change your habits and how you use the house. It is a free and easy way of possibly fixing the problem. Do not spend any money on expensive fixes without properly detemining the cause.

It seems to be a problem of too much moisture/water vapour, poor heating and insulation and not enough ventilation.

You say the house is 1912? Are the walls cavity walls? Or Solid?