Couple of simple q's about counterbattens, battens and nails

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello helpful folks :D

I'm looking into redoing my roof, here is how things stand at the minute (everyone likes a picture don't they!)

1. John Brash make proper treated red colour battens. I plan to use 25mm x 50mm for vertical counterbattens and same again for horizontal battens as I will be using natural slate about 8mm thick. Should counterbattens AND battens be same size ie. 25mm x 50mm or should the be different sizes?

2. In terms of best practice, what type of nail or screw should be used to fix the counterbattens to the rafters and then the horizaontal battens to the counterbattens?

Cheers.

SB

PS: I will upload a pic later today, not that it is anything extraordinary, it will simply give some colour to the post! :)

Sponsored Links
I'm no expert, but there was a thread I read (might even been on here), that stated the benefits of a vertical counterbatten are:

1. Increased airflow as they lift up the tiles slightly

2. It helps with water dissipation as water can simply run down under the main battens

3. Whenever I have seen pitched roofs being worked on, they appear to have counterbattens and battens

Happy to be advised otherwise if good reason? :)

EDIT: forgot to add, my picthed sides are very shallow, between 15 to 20 degrees, I will try and get a more accurate reading today when I go back down to site

There is a good explanation here, which simpletons like me could understand quite well: :D

http://blog.kingspaninsulation.co.uk/why-are-counter-battens-used-in-pitched-roofs/

Summary of it is:

"Roof tiles are usually laid horizontally, attached to timber tiling battens.. Underneath these battens, you will find your counter battens, running vertically, and, beneath these, a breather membrane.