Crack in brick below dpc (1)

Discussion in 'Building' started by Willy87, 26 Oct 2021.

1. Willy87

Willy87

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom
    Good evening I’ve just purchased a 1970s ex council house and have taken the concrete footpath up at side of property and noticed a crack through a couple of bricks below dpc. Wondering on best cause of action to take. Looking like it may of being like this for some time but being hidden by the concrete path. DPC is where the mortar is missing thanks

Attached Files:

2. Sponsored Links
  3. Willy87

Willy87

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom
    Hopefully I’ve posted in right place I’m new to this all advice will be massively appreciated thanks

4. Willy87

Willy87

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom
    Good afternoon I’ve just purchased a 1970s ex council house and have taken the concrete footpath up at side of property and noticed a crack through a couple of bricks below dpc. Wondering on best cause of action to take. Looking like it may of being like this for some time but being hidden by the concrete path. DPC is where the mortar is missing thanks

Attached Files:

5. tell80

tell80

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom
    excess water could have washed suport for that corner away and the bricks have dropped a little?
    Is there a gulley around the corner - was there a gulley or drain near the corner?
    from pic it looks like a cavity wall, is there any signs of damp inside the house?
    A brickie could safely remove and rebuild the corner, its a point load, and make good any DPC break - and look into the cavity to make sure cavity rubble is not bridging the DPC's.

youd be better off lowering the path and doing new pointing.

6. Willy87

Willy87

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom