Cracks on second layer of finishing plaster

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all

Please go easy on me, I'm a amateur DIYer at best and only took this on as finding a plasterer to do such a small job has been difficult.

We had a radiator valve leak on an upstairs rad and got to it via the ceiling on the ground floor. Plumber has sorted that now.

After lots of research, I did the following to repair:
- cut plasterboard to size, offered up to ceiling and screwed in to existing joists using coarse thread plasterboard screws, and didn't damage the paper cover thankfully
- PVA'd around the edges
- filled in the larger gaps and PB screws using Toupret interior filler and then PVA'd over the dried filler
- this left about 2-3mm gap for the plaster
- used British Gypsum finishing plaster to do two coats, the first slightly thicker consistency than the second. Did the second coat after the first was firm to touch
- knew I'd never get a perfect finish so was going to sand down before mist-coat and painting

I tried my best to do a nice thin layer each time but given it's my first go, I completely accept it may have gone wrong. Looking to learn why and how to fix it here.

IMG_6523.jpg IMG_6524.jpg

As you can see, the plaster has failed in a few sections by cracking and peeling away. In the second picture you can see the thickness, so slightly more than 1 mm.

Does anyone know what the cause may be? And also how to fix it? I assume take away the failed plaster and maybe use easifill? Then sand and paint as normal?

Sponsored Links
Too much suction from the background.
You need to seal with PVA and allow to fully dry. Only when fully dry will they PVA do the job.

So.
50/50 PVA
Let that dry overnight to be sure
Another PVA. When sticky plaster.
Use blade to get smooth.
Mix more up and apply when first coat is setting.
If you need to mix up more then again stick that over and smooth.
Damp sponge around edges to blend in and use blade to finish.