Crimps - Help Take 2

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,

Following my previous topic on joining the cable to my Oven isolating switch. TLC have just delivered my nice new Ratchet Crimping tool, some yellow butt crimps for the Red & Black and some blue ones for the earth :D

Now please don't shoot me down in flames, I have never used crimps before and want to do this properly and am looking for advice on the best technique for crimping. :oops:

Do I ...

Crimp one end then the other?
or
Position the crimper in the middle and crimp both sides in one?

I know this sounds really noddy, but I'd rather look a clown on this forum than get in wrong! (should really have bought a job lot of the sodding things and tried all permutations until I found the best method! :rolleyes: ).

Many Thanks again.
Go easy.

Merv

Sponsored Links
pdcelec Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2005 1:53 pm Post Subject:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Is the crimper left handed, right handed or central?

Not quite that much of a clown! :LOL:

Crimp one side at a time. Give both ends a tug to test them. Put tape around the joints. Jobs a good un

Sponsored Links
you crimp one side then the other. dont strip the cable too far back either to copper will show outside the crimp

Yuk - dont tape!!

If you are desperate to want to insulate them - then heat shrink.

As far as I am concerned, tape is temporary, and designed to help us when installing only. It doesnt last.

I was going to crimp, tape then stick it in a chocbox? before sticking in back in the stud partition void.

Safe enough?

Merv

Allenm said:
I was going to crimp, tape then stick it in a chocbox? before sticking in back in the stud partition void.

Safe enough?

Merv

you can miss the tape part. thats why the crimps are insulated and i said not to strip the cable too much. if you do want to cover it more, use heatshrink