1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Cutting Concrete for ground anchor installation

Discussion in 'General DIY' started by 600rob, 12 May 2016.

  1. 600rob

    600rob

    Joined:
    10 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    489
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Middlesex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi guys
    I want to fit one of these in a garage.

    http://www.yanchor.com/y-max 901.html

    The installation requires a sizable hole to be cut in the floor, which in this case is concrete. The garage is built on to the side of a house and is around 25 or so years old.


    Does anyone have an idea of how deep the concrete might be? And if I might encounter things like reinforcing steel etc?

    Ive got a 9inch angle grinder with some diamond blades but Id like an idea of what im up against before hand so i can rent the required tools if need be.

    Years ago I remember trying to drill 4 holes in concrete to fit a bolt down anchor and it took several drill bits and pretty much killed my hammer drill so imagine this will require a similar amount of swearing and pain!
     
  2. Nige F

    Nige F

    Joined:
    28 Jun 2005
    Messages:
    19,761
    Thanks Received:
    1,432
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    . Better to hire a electric road breaker for c.£52 or hydraulic one for c.£75 these are Jewson Online prices. Keep your 9 incher in case you need it ;) the grinder will fill the place with dust so just go straight into the concrete- protect your eyes and ears !
     
  3. foxhole

    foxhole

    Joined:
    14 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    13,748
    Thanks Received:
    1,461
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You might be able to hire a core drill to cut a hole large enough to drop the anchor into.
     
  4. 600rob

    600rob

    Joined:
    10 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    489
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Middlesex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the suggestions guys.

    So how deep do you reckon the concrete could be? is there a standard depth for garage bases or is it anyone's guess?

    Bearing in mind i would plan to install this fairly close to the wall would a road breaker make a fairly clean hole or would it be likely to crack the surrounding concrete?

    do you reckon this would be up to the job?
    http://www.hss.com/hire/p/breaker-te700-medium-duty

    or go for a bigger one? ;)
     
  5. foxhole

    foxhole

    Joined:
    14 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    13,748
    Thanks Received:
    1,461
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Breaker will make a big hole, concrete will be a minimum of 100mm thick , possibly 150mm.
     
  6. Burnerman

    Burnerman

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    19,369
    Thanks Received:
    3,737
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Personally I'd chain drill the perimeter you need using a hired SDS drill/breaker (10mm holes would be ok) and then use the breakers chisel to get out the concrete. The Hilti tool would be fine for this work.
    John :)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. 600rob

    600rob

    Joined:
    10 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    489
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Middlesex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes i was also considering this method. i might try this instead of the other approach
     
  8. 600rob

    600rob

    Joined:
    10 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    489
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Middlesex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    something else i though of was that the concrete floor will probably have some sort of DPC installed.

    When i drill/cut through the base i would need to replace this with something similar prior to installing the anchor.

    I was thinking something like a bitumen based liquid dpc.

    assuming i cut right through the concrete base, what then would be the best way to line the hole with the liquid DPD?

    I surely couldnt just apply it to the dirt or whatever is under the concrete could i?
     
  9. Burnerman

    Burnerman

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    19,369
    Thanks Received:
    3,737
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Once the hole is dug, just clean away the loose debris and line it with thick polythene, tucking it up the edges a bit should do the trick.
    This is what I did years ago when I did mine -no problems at all.
    John :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page