Cutting Kitchen worktops (unusual angles)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hope someone can help us out with this, I was going to buy a worktop jig, but after looking at a few it appears to me they are designed for cutting specific angles (90 and 45 degrees)? I have never used one before so I may be wrong.
Our kitchen is a strange 5 sided shape so the angles of the corners are:- three @ 90 degrees, one @ 35 degrees and one at 55 degrees.

Can these angles (35 and 55) be accomodated with the jig, or should I just cut the worktops straight through at half the angle rather than having a stagered joint?

Thanks in advance for any advice

Sponsored Links
The standard worktop jigs are normally used because they save material over using a conventional mitre joint. Both DTS and Makita make worktop jigs which will allow joints to be made which are +/-3 degrees, however yours are so extreme that I can't think of a jig which would accommodate them. So mitre it is, I'm afraid.

Scrit

(Having said that somebody will now make a liar out of me....... :LOL: )

Have finally got the worktops along with some chipboard templates which have been cut to the correct angles.

I plan on laying into it at weekend so hope someone can help out by answering a couple of questions before I start.

1. What adhesive would you reccomend for jointing? (the worktops are a dark ebony satin finish).

2. Might seem a daft question but do I join them in situ or join them in the garage and bring in once fully set?

3. When making the joint should I align the faces by eye and touch or is it best to clamp to a flat surface before tensioning the bolts?

4. should the sharp corner of the laminate coating be sanded or chamfered or left as it is before making the joint.

5. Is it necessary or advisable to use biscuits as well as clamping bolts?

That's 5 questions already..! Anyway thanks in advance for any light you can shed in my direction

cheers Trev

Sponsored Links