damp

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I live on the first floor of an Edwardian town house which consists of the main house plus a rear tenement. I had the place re-rendered recently and all rainwater goods replaced. I've now noticed I have a damp bedroom wall, which isn't an external wall - it's adjacent to my bathroom. However, the bathroom is in the tenement and the bedroom is part of the main house. The tenement is lower than the main house and I presume there's some kind of lead lined valley between the two (it's impossible to view from ground level and I'm no expert in these matters). There's evidence of surface mould in the corner of the bathroom ceiling and the ceiling seems to sag a little in this area. When probed with a Draper damp meter, a high reading occurs. The wall in the bedroom is papered with woodchip (although some of it I'd started ripping off some months back) and had become stained in places and peeled off really easily. There was quite a bit of surface mould under a picture that had been hanging there for years. The room now smells very musty. Would the problem be defective lead flashing between the house and tenement? If so, would that cause extensive dampness across the bedroom wall (the problem extends quite a way down)?

Sponsored Links
the shower or bath doesn't happen to back onto this wall by any chance?

it could also be a roof problem.

is there an extractor fan fitted to the bathroom?

No bath or shower adjacent to the wall in question. There's no extractor fan in the bathroom, as it has its own window. However, I have to confess to having acquired the habit of closing the bathroom window in the morning (after a shower, before leaving for work). Would condensation really show up on the other side of the wall?

only if hygroscopic salts were present.

was there an old chimney breast located on this wall previously?

Sponsored Links