Dampness in old house/potential costs

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
The backstory here is that my wife has her heart set on a house which has a very obvious damp problem (rotted skirting in one room and visible water droplets in a few cupboards on the outside walls). The house and location are spot on but I am a bit wary of what I am getting myself into and the potential costs of fixing the problems so want to be sure I know roughly how much cash I might need to keep back. Its sandstone walls, slate roof, presumably a raised timber floor (as there are vents on the side) built around 1880.

I'm no expert by any means on any of this but my suspicion is that the problem may be caused by the cement render which is covering the two sides of the house, presumably added to blend in the rear extension which was built about 30 years ago. The cement render comes down to about a foot off the ground and then the sandstone seems to have been painted down to ground level. My understanding is that the paint and render will be preventing moisture breathing out from the stone and instead it is coming into the house.

My question is about the potential costs and risks involved, ballpark figures really to take into account wrt the asking price.

I gather than the cement render will presumably need to be removed from the two sides, and repointed with NHL mortar, and presumably it may also need to be lime rendered if the stone is a mess underneath. Could someone give me a rough idea of the cost of this for an average sized 3-4 bedroom house (2 sides)?

Now, if I am lucky and this fixes the problem and I don't have additional issues with slate roofing, chimneys, gutters etc then I might be even luckier and the house dries out inside and all is well. If I am not lucky does anyone have any idea of what issues there could be and what potential costs could be involved? The big thing in my mind is if the joists are rotted.