Diagonal bracing on pitch roof

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've cut and pitched a vaulted roof designed by others and the building inspector has queried the absence of diagonal bracing.
The rafters are 225 x 50 at 600 centres with a 300 x 100 glulam at the ridge and birdsmouthed at the plate utilising slider shoes.
On top of the rafters are 11mm thick OSB boards, 50 x 25 counter battens in line with the rafters and finally 38 x 25 tiling battens at 100 mm centres all the way up the slope to hold plain clay tiles.
Had I'd been aware of the need for diagonal bracing I would have put it on top of the rafters in the form of metal strap before I put the OSB on but surely what's up there in terms of timber and the amount of nails vertically, horizontally and therefore diagonally would be sufficient to do the job.
I'm not a professional builder so any advice or opinons would be appreciated.

Sponsored Links
My thoughts exactly. The firm that designed the roof are as bemused as I am. I just wanted a second opinion before I take the building inspector on.

Sponsored Links
Or is he querying bracing across the room to prevent roof spread? (rather than between the rafters).
By this do you mean the base of the triangle formed by the rafters would get wider over time? I don't think so as we asked for a vaulted design. I will check with him though.

If the ridge beam is adequately supported at both ends and, if a long span, at other points along it's length and the rafters are securely attached to it then maybe the rafters will not spread at the base of the triangle by any signifcant amount. But do listen to the Buildng Control officer. They have to deal with designs that are not structural sound from "qualified" designers and others.

As previous posts, diagonal bracing is not needed if the roof is diaphragmed.

One thing unusual is the use of glide shoes. These are normally only used for raised tie trusses, to allow for the slight deflection and outward movement