did they chop a bit much out of this purlin?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a slate roof at 30 degrees pitch, supported by metal trusses and 9x3.75 inch purlins. The distances between trusses is 4m. The distance between purlins is about 1.5m. The slates sit on battens, which sit on boards(like floorboards) that sit on the purlins. The purlins are rotated so the 3.75 inch face sits on the truss. Here's a pic
http://1drv.ms/1xA2V6l

A steel frame is being erected inside and 4 of the steels follow the profile of the roof. They were supposed to touch the purlins in the same way the trusses do but it looks like a couple of the steels are slightly in the wrong place so the erectors have just chopped a 40mm chunk out of the purlin that was in the way.. Annoyingly, they could probably have got away with just taking 15mm or so out

I've a concern now that the remaining purlin thickness might not be sufficiently strong for the load it bears. Can any one tell me if it's ok? I'm planning to pack out the gap so the syeel frame supports the notched purlin but if it would be better to tell them to not repeat the behaviour then i will..

Sponsored Links
Hi FMT

I don't have a pic of the notch alas (can get one tomorrow), but I've simulated it on the 3D model of the building that the steel is supposed to being built to. I've also edited the original post to include a link to a shot of the roof buildup in general

Supposed to be like:
View media item 92580
They chopped about 40mm out of the purlin (leaving it to be ~185mm x 95mm where it's notched, down from 215x95):
View media item 92581
Right in the middle of a span too... Note these pictures omit the roof covering for clarity (turning it on made the model look messy from this angle)

If I pack out the gap between purlin and new steel (red), will it form adequate support? And as to the form of packing - 2 triangle wedges inserted from opposite sides, glued n hammered towards each other til they tighten up?