DIY Installations

ok perhaps i wasnt clear then.

the OP is unsure how much work he can or cannot do on his central heating and still be insured. im confused as to what difference this makes in a wooden house but reading between the lines (dangerous perhaps) he seems to think they will not cover it if he installs it himself.....much like a car insurer is unlikely to insure an diy lpg install into a car. ( if anyone knows of one who does let me know cos mine bloody doesnt).

knowing how insurance companies like to make a meal of things i was merely pointing out he may have difficulty getting the insurance company to cover him if he did do the work himself.

my head hurts :LOL:

Sponsored Links
brokenspanner said:
This is getting more heated than my C/H.
Who's getting heated? We're just having a conversation here. :confused:

I pointed out that I was a qualified engineer to agree that not all DIYers are by definition moronic. As regards my insurance company I don't think they'd give a Damn if I flood the place as I haven't got flood insurance, but hey might take exception if didn't have the necessary gas work done by a specifically qualified person. Agreed?
No. I don't align with the concept that insurers get unhappy and/or and take exception to things. You're either indemnified or you aren't, and whether you are or aren't is a contractual matter, not a legislative one.

nickso said:

the OP is unsure how much work he can or cannot do on his central heating and still be insured.
Well we're all unsure, because we're not privy to the terms of his policy.

...will not cover it if he installs it himself.....much like a car insurer is unlikely to insure an diy lpg install into a car. ( if anyone knows of one who does let me know cos mine b****y doesnt).